Skip to content

EAT - SHOP - PLAY...AND MORE!

Eat Shop Play 2021

Here is the latest list of where to Eat, Shop & Play in our community this week, February 12-18, 2024 ๐Ÿด๐Ÿ›๐Ÿคธโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ’˜

 

Monday, February 12

๐Ÿง  3:45 pm-5:30 pm โ€“ Seminars in Neuroscience - How the Brain Encodes Time & Advertising the NeuroPrep at Lake Forest College how-the-brain-encodes-time-and-advertising-the-neuroprep

๐Ÿค“ 7:00 pm-9:00 pm โ€“ Trivia Night at Lake Bluff Brewing Company trivia-night

 

Tuesday, February 13

๐Ÿ‘ถ 10:30 am-11:00 am โ€“ Baby and Me at Lake Bluff Public Library baby-and-me

๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿซ 11:30 pm-12:45 pm โ€“ Public Policy Analysis Challenge Panel: Root Causes of Violence at Lake Forest College root-causes-of-violence

๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ 11:30 am-2:00 pm โ€“ Barry Bradford's First Ladies of the United States at Grace United Methodist Church barry-bradfords-first-ladies-of-the-united-states

ย ๐Ÿ’ด 12:00 pm-1:00 pm โ€“ Mastering Small Business Taxes - A Startup Guide to Taxes (live online) with SCORE mastering-small-business-taxes-a-startup-guide-taxes

๐Ÿง‘โ€๐Ÿซ 4:00 pm-5:00 pm โ€“ The Neuroscience of Violence: Presented by Dr. Doug Fields at Lake Forest College guest-speaker-dr-doug-fields

๐Ÿœ 6:00 pm-8:00 pm โ€“ Soup & Bread Night at Elawa Farm soup--bread-night

 

Wednesday, February 14

๐Ÿ’ช 8:00 am-9:00 am โ€“ Low-Impact Strength Class (virtual) with Elderwerks low-impact-strength-class

๐Ÿ’˜ 11:00 am-10:00 pm โ€“ Valentineโ€™s Day Buy Two, Get One Deal at Oaken Bistro+Bar buy-two-get-one-deal

๐Ÿฒ 5:00 pm-6:30 pm โ€“ Winter Carryout at Elawa Farm carryout-at-elawa-farm

๐ŸŽญ 7:30 pm-10:00 pm โ€“ Silent Sky at Citadel Theatre silent-sky

 

Thursday, February 15

๐Ÿ‘ง 10:30 am-11:00 am โ€“ Storytime: Together Time at Lake Bluff Public Library storytime-together-time

๐Ÿ’˜ 11:00 am-10:00 pm โ€“ Valentineโ€™s Day Buy Two, Get One Deal at Oaken Bistro+Bar buy-two-get-one-deal

๐Ÿ‘ด 12:00 pm-1:00 pm โ€“ Caregiving - The First Year and Beyond (virtual) with Elderwerks caregiving-the-first-year-and-beyond

๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿซ12:00 pm-1:00 pm โ€“ Citizens of Ordinary Time - Benjamin Goluboff Book Talk at Lake Forest College benjamin-goluboff-book-talk

๐Ÿ’ป 12:00 pm-1:00 pm โ€“ How to Use AI to Streamline Your Marketing (live online) with SCORE how-use-ai-streamline-your-marketing

๐Ÿ“š 12:00 pm-1:15 pm โ€“ Afternoons with Judy Levin at Lake Forest Library afternoons-with-judy-levin

๐Ÿฅ˜ 4:00 pm-6:00 pm โ€“ Heat & Serve Suppers at Elawa Farm eat-and-serve-suppers

๐Ÿก 5:00 pm-6:30 pm โ€“ Secret North Shore-Chicago: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure at History Center Lake Forest-Lake Bluff secret-north-shore-chicago-guide-weird-wonderful-and-obscure

๐Ÿ“š 7:00 pm-8:30 pm โ€“ Professor Moptop Presents Sgt. Pepper (Hybrid Program) with Lake Bluff Public Library professor-moptop-presents-sgt-pepper

๐Ÿฟ 7:00 pm-9:00 pm โ€“ Punch 9 for Harold Washington at Wayfarer Theaters punch-9-for-harold-washington

๐ŸŽ™๏ธ 7:15 pm-9:15 pm โ€“ Do Not Submit - Lake Forest at Gorton Center do-not-submit-lake-forest

๐ŸŽญ 7:30 pm-10:00 pm โ€“ Silent Sky at Citadel Theatre silent-sky

 

Friday, February 16

โ˜•๏ธ 7:30 am-9:00 am โ€“ COC B4Work Networking Breakfast at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa coc-b4work-breakfast

๐Ÿ’ช 8:00 am-9:00 am โ€“ Low-Impact Cardio Class (virtual) with Elderwerks low-impact-cardio-class

โ›ท๏ธ 9:15 am-6:00 pm โ€“ Middle School Ski/Snowboard Trip with CROYA croya

๐Ÿ›ฅ๏ธ 10:00 am-12:00 pm โ€“ Sea Stories with a Navy Veteran at the National Museum of the American Sailor sea-stories-with-a-navy-veteran

๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ 10:00 am-9:00 pm โ€“ Grab & Go Crafts at Lake Bluff Public Library grab-go-crafts

๐Ÿ’˜ 11:00 am-10:00 pm โ€“ Valentineโ€™s Day Buy Two, Get One Deal at Oaken Bistro+Bar buy-two-get-one-deal

โœ‚๏ธ 4:00 pm-5:00 pm โ€“ Ribbon Cutting & New Location Celebration: Kung Fu Tea ribbon-cutting-new-location-celebration-kung-fu-tea

๐Ÿธ 6:00 pm-7:30 pm โ€“ Winter Cocktail Class at Oaken Bistro+Bar winter-cocktail-class

๐ŸŽน 7:00 pm-10:00 pm โ€“ Live Music: Bobby K. Music at Oaken Bistro+Bar live-music-bobby-k-music

๐ŸŽญ 7:30 pm-9:00 pm โ€“ Silent Sky at Citadel Theatre silent-sky

 

Saturday, February 17

๐Ÿ’˜ 11:00 am-10:00 pm โ€“ Valentineโ€™s Day Buy Two, Get One Deal at Oaken Bistro+Bar buy-two-get-one-deal

๐ŸŽญ 7:30 pm-10:00 pm โ€“ Silent Sky at Citadel Theatre silent-sky

 

Sunday, February 18

๐ŸŽป 9:00 am-5:00 pm โ€“ 2024 Chicago National Chamber Music Competition with Midwest Young Artists Conservatory 2024-chicago-national-chamber-music-competition

๐Ÿ’˜ 11:00 am-10:00 pm โ€“ Valentineโ€™s Day Buy Two, Get One Deal at Oaken Bistro+Bar buy-two-get-one-deal

๐ŸŽญ 3:00 pm-5:30 pm โ€“ Silent Sky at Citadel Theatre silent-sky

 

Get outsideโ€ฆbe sure to check the status of our amazing community facilities!

๐Ÿ›ท Lake Bluff Park District: www.lakebluffparks.org

๐Ÿ€ Lake Forest Parks & Recreation: www.lfparksandrec.com

๐Ÿ• Lake Forest Open Lands โ€“ www.lfola.org/recreational-activities

ย 

ย 

Ongoing:

๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ The Art Center Highland Park โ€“ Winter Session Classes Begin January 8, 2024, February Youth Art Month, Dist. 112 (February 13-February 24) ย theartcenterhp

๐Ÿ‘ฆ CROYA โ€“ After School Drop-In Hours croya-calendar

๐Ÿ‘ต Dickinson Hall โ€“ Special Events, Life Enrichment, Ongoing Programs, Healthy Living Lectures and Fitness for Seniors dickinson_hall

โค๏ธ Fill A Heart 4 Kids โ€“ See Events & Volunteer Opportunities fillaheart4kids

๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ The Gallery โ€“ On Fire Deer Path Art League Member Show thegallerylf

ย ๐ŸŽฅ Gorton Center โ€“ Calendar of Events: gortoncenter-events

๐Ÿฆฝ Great Lake Adaptive Sports Association (GLASA) โ€“ Calendar of Events glasa.org-calendar

๐Ÿก History Center of Lake Forest-Lake Bluff โ€“ Exhibit: 4 Degrees of Difference: From Glaciers to Global Warming (January 25-May 11), Docent-Led Walking Tours; Self-Guided Tours โ€“ 11 Stately Observers: Witness Trees of Lake Forest, Houses of Lake Road; LF-LB History online; Main Exhibit & Digital Exhibits: Milestone Travels: Leaving Home to Find Yourself; Map Stories: The Hidden History in the Maps of Lake Forest and Lake Bluff; The Holiday Collection: from 1898 to Today; 300 Photos, 30 Days: A Candid Look at Covid-19; 20 in the Twenties: A Century of Change; Facing School 2020; History of Epidemics; History of Vaccines; A Spark of Genius: Local Events and Their Discoveries; Arcady Farm and its Neighbors lflbhistory

๐ŸŽป International Chamber Artists โ€“ Couch Concerts (Virtual), 2022-2023 Season Celebrating Women Composers icamusic

๐Ÿก Lake Bluff History Museum โ€“ The Lake: Lake Bluff and Michi Gami opens July 15 the-lake-lake-bluff-and-michi-gami; Lake Bluff Walking Tours App (nearly a dozen tours available): Uptown Commercial District; Lake Bluff Camp Meeting Grounds; Camp Meeting Cottages; Dogs on the Bluff public art display; Green Bay Road Estates; Moffett Road Estates; Sheridan Road Estates; Lake Bluff Commemorative Plaques Tour; Early Settlers of Lake Bluff, and Development in West Lake Bluff. lakebluffhistory

ย ๐Ÿ“š Lake Bluff Public Library โ€“ Calendar of Events: lakeblufflibrary-events; Voterโ€™s Registration other-services

๐Ÿ“š Lake Forest Book Store โ€“ The Lake Forest Book Storeย Book Club meets monthly at the store onย the 3rd Tuesday of every monthย at 7:00 pm: February: The Curse of Pietro Houdini by Derek B. Miller, March: The Wren, The Wren by Anne Enrigh, April: James by Percival Everett lakeforestbookstore.com/store-book-clubs

๐ŸŽป Lake Forest Civic Orchestra โ€“ past concerts and recordings archive past-concerts

๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿซ Lake Forest College โ€“ La Espaรฑa Vaciada Exhibition at Durand Art Institute at Lake Forest College (January 18-February 21) la-espana-vaciada-exhibit-reception

๐Ÿ“š Lake Forest Library โ€“ Blind Date with a Book (January 14-February 14), Duckling Mini Art Masterpiece Challenge for Ages 5+ (February 1-29) Calendar of Events: lakeforestlibrary-events

๐Ÿก Lake Forest Preservation Society โ€“ 6 app-based tours: East Lake Forest Walking Tour, Stanley Andersonโ€™s Lake Forest, David Adler Architecture Walking Tour, Howard Van Doren Shaw in Lake Forest, West Park Walking Tour, 2020 Lake Forest Historic Preservation Awards, video library lfpf

๐Ÿด Oaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel โ€“ Lake County Restaurant Month (February 1-29), Winter Wonderland Igloos (through March 2024) oakenbistro.com/specials-events

๐ŸŽป Rendezvous Arts โ€“ Summer Vignette Series and Patreon Channel (Virtual) rendezvousarts

ย ย 

Sales & Specials:

๐ŸŒฎ Authentico: Happy Hour all night Sunday-Wednesday: Sangria Sundays $10; Margarita Mondays $10; Tuesdays with a Twist โ€“ House Margarita & Sangria $10; Wine Wednesday $10; Friday Night Fish Fry โ€“ Cabo Style authenticorestaurant

๐Ÿ›Œ Bedside Manor: Join our newsletter and take 10% off first purchase, 20% off Pine Cone Hill and Dash & Albert now (until 2/26) ย shopbedside-sale

๐Ÿ‘— Blu Violet: New Arrivals shopbluviolet-collections-all

๐Ÿป Chief's Pub: ย Monday - $3.50 All Domestic bottles All Day, $3 Cheeseburger Sliders during MNF; Tuesday - $3.75 Corona and Corona Light bottles, $5 House Margarita and 1/2 price tacos; Wednesday - 1/2 price bottle of wine, $3.50 domestic jumbos; Thursday - $20 Domestic beer towers, $10 domestic pitchers; Friday - $6 16oz Craft draft beer; Saturday - $15 domestic buckets, $20 Claw and Noon buckets, 1/2 price pizza all day; Sunday - $4 Screwdriver, $5 Bloodys and $6 Mimosa's, Happy Hour: Mโ€“F 3pm-6pm: $3.50 Miller Lite & Budlight Bottles, $4 16oz pints Miller Lite & Budlight, $4.75 23oz Miller Lite & Budlight, $5 Rail Drinks-House Vodka, Gin, Rum, Tequila & Whiskey + a mixer, $6 House Wine-Red: Cabernet, White: Chardonnay chiefspub

๐ŸŽญ Citadel Theatre: Season Subscriptions (2023-2024 Season Line-up:ย Mousetrap, She Loves Me, Silent Sky, and Baby) $40-$120 citadeltheatre

๐Ÿท Courtyard Wines: Holiday & Special occasion gift baskets, 10% discount on case purchase winestorelakeforestil

๐Ÿซ– Deer Path Inn: Literary Getaway: A Good Book and a Spot of Tea, Zero-Proof Experience Mocktail Mixology, Local's Only Package: Discover the North Shore, Babymoon Getaway - Baby On Board, Gramping Getaway; Girlsโ€™ Getaway Tea Time For Two; thedeerpathinn.com/packages; Afternoon Tea at The English Room - seatings at 2:00 pm and 2:30 pm Wednesday through Saturday; Afternoon Tea available for carry-outย Wednesday through Saturdayย from noon to 4:00 pm with preorder thedeerpathinn.com/dining

๐Ÿณ Egg Harbor Cafรฉ: Winter Specials: Bacon Bimbap, Mikeโ€™s Burger Bar, Red Velvet French Toast, Habanero Bacon eggharborcafe

๐Ÿ’†โ€โ™€๏ธ Elements Massage: $20 off first one-hour massage session, Membership Discounts โ€“ one-hour massage session for only $89 (regular $119); 90 minute massage for $129 (regular $159) elementsmassage.com/bannockburn

๐Ÿซ Fannie May: Free Ground Shipping on orders $75+ fanniemay-sale

๐Ÿงบ Foodstuffs Gourmet Food & Catering: Build Your Own Gift Basket, Sale: Club Lucky Marinara ala Brav, Foodstuffs Torchio Pasta, Foodstuffs Strozzapreti Pasta, Foodstuffs Salad Dressing foodstuffs

๐ŸŒฑ Forest Greens Juice Bar: 10% discount for active military personnel forestgreensjuicebar

๐Ÿจ The Forester โ€“ a Hyatt Place Hotel: Oaken Dining Package, Sweeten Your Stay Package, Great Lakes Naval Station Graduation Offer, Member Rates theforesterhotel

๐Ÿง˜โ€โ™‚๏ธ Forever Om Yoga: $79 new client offer (local clients only); unlimited golden membership $175, $29 single class, packages available foreveromyoga

๐Ÿ’˜ The Gallery: Valentines at the Gallery (February 13-14) thegallerylf

โ˜•๏ธ Hansa Coffee Roasters: Free Shipping on orders over $75, Espresso Based: Brown Butter Latte, Cherry Almond Latte, Jack Frost Latte, Maple Cardamom, Naughty List Mocha, Rudolphs Mocha; Tea Based: Jingle Bell Tea, Cranberry Almond Rooibos Tea, Tumeric Ginger Tea hansacoffee

๐Ÿฃ Kuro Bistro: Lunch Specials - Maki, Sashimi, Sushi, Classic Roll Choices, Bento, DonBuri kurolakeforest

๐Ÿ’ช Lake Bluff Park District: Purchase a New Annual Fitness Membership and receive ยฝ off $75 registration fee or 3 โ€“ 30 minute personal training session (February) health-fitness-memberships

๐Ÿ“š Lake Forest Book Store: 10% discount available for military personnel and educators lakeforestbookstore

๐ŸŽป Lake Forest Civic Orchestra: Season Subscriptions $30-$60 (25% off single ticket price) lakeforestcivicorchestra

๐Ÿ’ Lake Forest Flowers: Specials Specials

๐ŸŽ Lake Forest Hardware Cards and Gifts: Bargains of the Month local-ad

๐ŸŒญ Lukeโ€™s of Lake Bluff: 10% off first order; Daily Specials Include Small Fries and Medium Drink lukeslakebluff

๐Ÿฆ™ Mustard Seed: Fair Trade Gift Guide and much more mustardseedfairtrade

๐Ÿจ Oaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel: Weekday Happy Hour 3-6: drink specials from $5 and starters specials from $7 each; 16.18% Conway Park neighborhood business discount weekdays 11-4; E-Club Special โ€“ Free Sapling; Citadel Theatre Goers discount 20% off plus Oaken 5 Happy Hour menu outside of the regular weekday 3-6pm hours when you show a same day ticket stub oakenbistro.com/specials-events

๐Ÿ›ถ Offshore Marine/Paddling Warehouse: 30-60% off Boardworks Paddleboards, Sale Items offshore-chicago

๐Ÿชด Pasquesi Home and Gardens: 25% offย green & blooming Indoor Plants, 20% off on Indoor Containers (through February 14) sales-events

๐ŸŽจ Sherwin Williams: 10% off $50+, Paintperks Exclusive (February 9-19): 40% off Emerald Products, 25% off all other paints and stains, 15% off paint supplies
sherwin-williams

๐Ÿ‘” Smithโ€™s Menโ€™s Store: Made-to-measure private appointments available smithsmensstore

๐ŸŽ Sunset Foods: See Weekly Specials weekly-ad

๐Ÿจ Suzyโ€™s Swirl: Customer Appreciation Raffle (through February 14), 20% Senior Discount; 50% off for Students and Teachers on Wednesdays suzysswirl

๐Ÿซ Sweetโ€™s:ย  Featured Items: Hostess Tray, English Toffee, Ladybugs, Everyday: Gift Basket, Mixed Chocolate Assortment, Sampler, Fantasy Apples, Caramel Nut Corn, Peanut Brittle, Caramels sweetschocolates

๐Ÿซ Toffee Traditions: Seasonal Flavors: hot cocoa toffee, rosemary with a touch of sea salt, white chocolate, lemon, poppy seed with toasted macadamia nut seasonal-toffee

๐Ÿ’†โ€โ™‚๏ธ Touched by Jules: 30-minute massage $65, 60-minute massage $120, 90-minute massage $175 touchedbyjules

Check out our Community Calendar for more ways to Think Local First