Skip to content

EAT - SHOP - PLAY...AND MORE!

Eat Shop Play 2021

Here is the latest list of where to Eat, Shop & Play in our community this week, March 13 -19, 2023 🍴🛍 🤸‍♀️☘️

 

 

Monday, March 13 

🤺 5:00 pm-6:00 pm – Fencing (Mondays, March 13-April 24 (no class March 27)) for ages: 7-14 Years Old at Gorton Center fencing 

☘️ 6:30 pm-8:30 pm – Irish Supper with Chef Gale Gand at Elawa Farm elawafarm-adult-youth-classes 

🌳 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Nonfiction at Night: "We Had a Little Real Estate Problem: The Unheralded Story of Native Americans & Comedy" by Kliph Nesteroff (in person at Lake Forest Library & virtual) nonfiction-night-we-had-little-real-estate-problem-unheralded-story-native-americans-comedyhttps://lakeblufflibrary.libcal.com/event/10381735 

👩‍🏫 7:00 pm-8:30 pm – FAN- Drama Free: A Guide to Managing Unhealthy Family Relationships at Gorton Center fan-drama-free-a-guide-to-managing-unhealthy-family-relationships 

🤓 7:00 pm-9:00 pm – Trivia Night @ Lake Bluff Brewing Company trivia-night-lake-bluff-brewing-company 

 

Tuesday, March 14 

 🧘‍♂️ 9:00 am-10:00 am – All Levels Yoga with Areta at Gorton Community Center all-levels-yoga-with-areta 

👴 10:00 am-11:00 am – Long Term Care Planning: What You Need to Know (in person or virtual) at Elderwerks long-term-care-planning-what-you-need-to-know 

👶 10:30 am-11:00 am – Baby & Me at Lake Bluff Public Library baby-me 

👧 4:00 pm-4:30 pm – Middle School Meeting at CROYA croya 

📚 6:30 pm-8:00 pm – Library Board Meeting at Lake Forest Library library-board-meeting 

📺 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Cut the Cable Cord at Lake Forest Library cut-cable-cord 

🖼️ 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Open Art Night at Lake Bluff Public Library open-art-night 

 

Wednesday, March 15 

🧘 10:00 am-11:00 am – Sound Bath Meditation at Gorton Center sound-bath 

📚 10:00 am-11:30 am – Great Books Discussion Group: “The Open Boat” (Hybrid) great-books-discussion-group-open-boat-hybrid 

🧑‍🏫 12:00 pm-1:00 pm – Divorcing with Dignity at Gorton Center divorcing-with-dignity 

👩 12:00 pm-1:00 pm – Women in Leadership 2023- Journey to the Top (virtual) with SCORE women-leadership-2023-journey-to-the-top 

💻 2:00 pm-3:00 pm – An Evening With Gregory S. Cooke, Producer of “Invisible Warriors” (virtual) at Lake Forest Library evening-gregory-s-cooke-producer-invisible-warriors 

🧱 4:00 pm-5:00 pm – Drop-In Amazing LEGO Architecture for Grades K-4 at Lake Forest Library drop-in-amazing-lego-architecture-for-grades-k-4

🪴 4:00 pm-5:00 pm – Garden Task Force at Lake Bluff Public Library garden-task-force 

🏍️ 5:00 pm-6:30 pm – COC Harley Davidson Ladies' Event coc-harley-davidson-ladies-event 

✍️ 6:00 pm-7:00 pm – Jaime Bronstein at the Lake Forest Book Store jaime-bronstein-at-the-lake-forest-book-store  

🖼️ 6:00 pm-9:00 pm –ATA Workshop #4: Nydia Gonzalez-Carson and Katrina Davis-Salazar clcillinois-the-arts-events 

⛪️ 6:30 pm-8:30 pm – Lakelight Old Testament Class (Wednesdays, March 15-May 10) at Christ Church Lake Forest lakelight-old-testament-class 

💻 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Invisible Warriors: An Evening with Documentary Historian Gregory S. Cooke (virtual) presented by Lake Bluff Public Library Invisible-Warriors 

🔎 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – On Fine Miniatures: A Conversation with William Robertson (virtual) presented by History Center of Lake Forest-Lake Bluff fine-miniatures-conversation-william-robertson 

👦 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – High School Meeting at CROYA croya-calendar

🤓 7:00 pm-9:00 pm – Overflow Trivia Night @ Lake Bluff Brewing Company overflow-trivia-night 

🇺🇸 7:30 pm-9:00 pm – League of Women Voters’ Mayoral Candidate Forum at Gorton Center league-of-women-voters-mayoral-candidate-forum 

🎻 7:30 pm-9:00 pm – Orchestra Concert at Lake Forest High School lakeforestschools-orchestra-concert 

 

Thursday, March 16 

🧘‍♂️ 9:00 am-10:00 am – Gentle Yoga with Areta at Gorton Community Center gentle-yoga-with-areta 

📖 10:30 am-11:00 am – Storytime: Together Time at Lake Bluff Public Library  

storytime-together-timehttps://business.lflbchamber.com/events/details/storytime-together-time-03-09-2023-24198?calendarMonth=2023-03-01 

💻 12:00 pm-1:00 pm – How to Improve Your Business Website to Turn Visitors Into Sales (virtual) with SCORE how-improve-your-business-website-turn-visitors-sales 

🌞 12:00 pm-1:15 pm – Afternoons with Judy Levin: An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir (in person at Lake Forest Library and virtual) afternoons-judy-levin-indian-among-los-indigenas 

📱 2:00 pm-3:00 pm – Iphone Basics at Lake Forest Library iphone-basics 

🧶 4:00 pm-5:00 pm – Kids Knitting Club at Lake Bluff Public Library kids-knitting-club 

🦋 6:00 pm-7:00 pm – Source of Income Webinar at Elderwerks source-of-income-webinar 

👨‍🏫 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – FAN- Life is Hard: How Philosophy Can Help Us Find Our Way (virtual) presented by Gorton Center fan-life-is-hard-how-philosophy-can-help-us-find-our-way 

✍️ 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Storytellers: Teen Writing Club at Lake Forest Library storytellers-teen-writing-club 

💡 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Through Darkness to Light: Photographs Along the Underground Railroad (Virtual Tour) presented by Lake Bluff Public Library through-darkness-to-light-photographs-along-the-underground-railroad-virtual-tour 

💆 7:00 pm-8:30 pm – Introduction to Reiki at Gorton Center introduction-to-reiki 

📝 7:00 pm-9:00 pm – Intro to Letterpress Printing at Fiore Press Letterpress intro-to-letterpress-printing 

 

Friday, March 17 

☕️ 7:30 am-9:00 am – B4Work Networking Breakfast with Lake Forest/Lake Bluff Chamber of Commerce b4work-networking-breakfast 

💻 8:30 am-12:30 am – Excel: Advanced (Zoom) presented by Illinois Small Business Development and International Trade Center College of Lake County excel-advanced 

🧠 10:30 am-1:30 pm – Big Thinkers (kids and families) at Lake Forest Library drop-big-thinkers 

🌱 12:00 pm-1:00 pm – Virtual Learning – Edible Seed Starting at Chalet chaletnursery-events  

🍿 3:00 pm-5:00 pm – Feature Film Friday: “Ticket to Paradise” at Lake Forest Library feature-film-friday-ticket-paradise 

☘️ 4:00 pm-7:00 pm – St. Patrick’s Day Party & Ceili at Gorton Center st-patricks-day-party-ceili 

🇮🇪 4:00 pm-10:00 pm – St. Patrick’s Day Specials at Oaken Bistro + Bar st-patricks-days 

🇮🇹 6:00 pm-7:00 pm – Cannoli Class! Learn to Make Cannoli at Gorton Center cannoli-class-learn-to-make-cannoli 

🎹 6:00 pm-8:30 pm – ICA Steinway Soiree Featuring New Brass Players Sarah & Oto Carrillo presented by International Chamber Artists icamusic-2022-23-concert-series 

🎻 7:30 pm-9:30 pm – Symphony847: Scheherazade Exotic Tales of a Heroine at Gorton Center symphony847-scheherazade-exotic-tales-of-a-heroine 

 

Saturday, March 18 

📖 10:30 am-11:00 am – Mystery Reader Storytime at Lake Bluff Public Library mystery-reader-storytime 

☯️ 11:00 am-12:00 pm – Tai Chi with Ken Ning at Gorton Center tai-chi 

♟️ 1:00 pm-2:00 pm – Chess Club (ages 6-12) at Lake Bluff Public Library chess-club 

👕 1:00 pm-3:00 pm – Design a Custom T-Shirt for Grades 8-Adult at Lake Forest Library design-custom-t-shirt-grades-8-adult 

💆‍♂️ 1:00 pm-5:00 pm – Accelerated Class: Reiki Levels I & II at Gorton Center accelerate-class-reiki-levels-i-ii 

🔪 2:00 pm-4:00 pm – Knife and Tool Sharpening at Pasquesi Home & Gardens pasquesi-sales-events 

👧 🧑 6:00 pm-7:30 pm – Daddy and Daughter Dance – Back to the 80’s with Lake Forest Parks and Recreation at CROYA daddy-and-daughter-dance-back-to-the-80-s 

💙💛6:30 pm-10:30 pm – LFHS Booster Madness 2023 LFHS-Booster-Madness 

🎞️ 7:00 pm-9:30 pm – Chicago Independent Film: Relative at Gorton Center chicago-independent-film-relative 

 

Sunday, March 19 

🧚‍♂️ 10:00 am-11:00 am – Fairy Garden Workshop (All Ages) at Chalet Wilmette chaletnursery-events  

🧘 1:00 pm-2:30 pm – Restorative Yoga Workshop with Areta at Gorton Center restorative-yoga-workshop-with-areta 

🧩 1:00 pm-4:30 pm – Puzzle Swap at Lake Bluff Public Library puzzle-swap 

🎭 3:00 pm-6:00 pm – National Theatre Live: Jack Absolute Flies Again at Gorton Center national-theatre-live-jack-absolute-flies-again 

🎵 3:00 pm-5:00 pm – Choral Concert with Guest Artist Gary Fry at Midwest Young Artists Conservatory mya-upcoming-events 

👨‍🏫 4:00 pm-6:00 pm – Switchback at College of Lake County jlcenter-clcillinois-spring2023events 

🎺 4:00 pm-6:30 pm – Brass Waves & Beach Featuring New ICA Brass Players Sarah & Oto Carrillo presented by International Chamber Artists at Church of the Holy Spirit icamusic-2022-23-concert-series 

🎵 6:00 pm-7:30 pm – Music At The Fort Concert Featuring Adam Kromelow presented by Midwest Young Artists Conservatory music-at-the-fort-concert-featuring-adam-kromelow 

 

 

Get outside…be sure to check the status of our amazing community outdoor facilities! 

🎾 Lake Bluff Park District: www.lakebluffparks.org 

⚾️ Lake Forest Parks & Recreation: www.lfparksandrec.com 

🐕 Lake Forest Open Lands – www.lfola.org/recreational-activities 

 

 

Ongoing: 

 

👨‍🎨 Artists on the Bluff – Monthly meetings on 1st Thursday of every month (from September through May) in the Lake Bluff Rec Center 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm artistsonthebluff 

🧑‍🎨 College of Lake County – Truth in Spontaneity: Journeys in Clay (February 24-March 25) at The Robert T. Wright Community Gallery of Art the-arts-events 

👴 Dickinson Hall – Special Events, Life Enrichment, Ongoing Programs, Healthy Living Lectures and Fitness for Seniors dickinson_hall 

❤️ Fill A Heart 4 Kids –See Events & Volunteer Opportunities fillaheart4kids 

🖼️ The GallerySerenity photography by Phillip Ross thegallerylf-current-exhibit 

🏠 History Center of Lake Forest-Lake Bluff: Art of the Miniature (through March 2023); Docent-Led Walking Tours; Self-Guided Tours – 11 Stately Observers: Witness Trees of Lake Forest, Houses of Lake Road; LF-LB History online; Main Exhibit & Digital Exhibits: Milestone Travels: Leaving Home to Find Yourself; Map Stories: The Hidden History in the Maps of Lake Forest and Lake Bluff; The Holiday Collection: from 1898 to Today; 300 Photos, 30 Days: A Candid Look at Covid-19; 20 in the Twenties: A Century of Change; Facing School 2020; History of Epidemics; History of Vaccines; A Spark of Genius: Local Events and Their Discoveries; Arcady Farm and its Neighbors lflbhistory 

🎻 International Chamber Artists: Couch Concerts (Virtual), 2022-2023 Season Celebrating Women Composers icamusic 

🚶‍♂️ Lake Bluff History Museum – Lake Bluff Walking Tours App (nearly a dozen tours available): Uptown Commercial District; Lake Bluff Camp Meeting Grounds; Camp Meeting Cottages; Dogs on the Bluff public art display; Green Bay Road Estates; Moffett Road Estates; Sheridan Road Estates; Lake Bluff Commemorative Plaques Tour; Early Settlers of Lake Bluff, and Development in West Lake Bluff. lakebluffhistory 

📚 Lake Bluff Public Library – Phyllis Fox Memorial Writing & Bookmark Design Contest (February 15-April 1) Phyllis-Fox-Memorial-Writing-Bookmark-Design-Contest; Seed Library Opens Seed-Library-Opens; Voter’s Registration lakeblufflibrary-other-services; Invisible Warriors: Virtual Screening (through March 15) invisible-warriors-virtual-screening 

🎾 Lake Bluff Park District – Summer Program Guide available – Resident registration opens March 11 lakebluffparks-summer2023 

📚 Lake Forest Book StoreThe Lake Forest Book Store Book Club meets monthly at the store on the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 7:00 PM lakeforestbookstore.com/store-book-clubs 

🎻 Lake Forest Civic Orchestra – past concerts and recordings archive past-concerts 

📚 Lake Forest Library – March (Book) Madness: Vote Each Week! (March 14-April 3) march-book-madness-vote-each-week 

🤸‍♀️ Lake Forest Parks & Recreation: Summer/Camp Resident Registration Opens March 7, 2023 8:30 am; Non-Resident Registration Opens March 14, 2023 8:30 am lfparksandrec 

🚶 Lake Forest Preservation Society – 6 app-based tours: East Lake Forest Walking Tour, Stanley Anderson’s Lake Forest, David Adler Architecture Walking Tour, Howard Van Doren Shaw in Lake Forest, West Park Walking Tour, 2020 Lake Forest Historic Preservation Awards, video library lfpf 

💼 LifeWorking – Free Day Pass/Book at Tour for prospective members mylifeworking 

👩‍⚕️ McLaughlin Care – Wellness Wednesdays Vlogs Wellness-Wednesdays 

🎹 Oaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel: Live Music Fridays with Peter the Pianist oakenbistro.com/specials-events 

🎻 Rendezvous Arts – Summer Vignette Series and Patreon Channel (Virtual) rendezvousarts 

 

 

Sales & Specials: 

🌮 Authentico: Happy Hour all night Sunday-Wednesday: Sangria Sundays $7; Margarita Mondays $7; Tuesdays with a Twist – House Margarita & Sangria $7; Wine Wednesday $7; Friday Night Fish Fry – Cabo Style authenticorestaurant 

👗 Blu Violet: New Arrivals shopbluviolet-collections-all 

🪴 Chalet: Step Into Spring Sale 20% off (March 10-26), Garnier-Thiebaut Linens 20% off Trunk Show (March 10-16), Free Local Delivery on Orders $250 collections/on-sale  

🍻 Chief's Pub: Monday: $3.50 Miller Lite & Budlight bottles; Tuesday: $4.74 Corona & Corona Light Bottles / $5 House Margaritas; Wednesday: $4.75 23oz Budlight and Miller Lite Draft / 1⁄2 Bottles of wine; Thursday: 1⁄2 off Domestic Pitchers; Friday: $5 16oz Craft Draft; Saturday: $17 Domestic Buckets, $25 Whiteclaw and Highnoon Buckets; Sunday: $5 House Bloody Mary’s, Mimosas and Screwdrivers; Happy Hour: M–F 3pm-6pm: $3.50 Miller Lite & Budlight Bottles, $4 16oz pints Miller Lite & Budlight, $4.75 23oz Miller Lite & Budlight, $5 Rail Drinks-House Vodka, Gin, Rum, Tequila & Whiskey + a mixer, $6 House Wine-Red: Cabernet, White: Chardonnay chiefspub

🎭 Citadel Theatre: Season Subscriptions $35-$120 citadeltheatre 

 🫖 Deer Path Inn: Zero-Proof Experience Mocktail Mixology; Gramping Getaway; Girls’ Getaway Tea Time For Two; thedeerpathinn.com/packages; Afternoon Tea at The English Room - seatings at 2:00 pm and 2:30 pm Wednesday through Saturday; Afternoon Tea available for carry-out Wednesday through Saturday from noon to 4:00 pm with preorder thedeerpathinn.com/dining 

🍳 Egg Harbor Café: Free delivery with orders over $15, Seasonal Menu: Regular or Strawberry Mimosa, Mild or Spicy Bloody Mary, Elote Avocado Toast, Venetian Bagelwich, Lemon Cheesecake Chia Pudding, Jelly Donut Pancakes, Limoncello Sunrise, Blackberry Lavender Lemosa eggharborcafe.com/menu

💆 Elements Massage: $30 off first one-hour massage session, Membership Discounts – one-hour massage session for only $79 (regular $109); 90 minute massage for $109 (regular $149); two-hour massage session for $139 (regular $189) elementsmassage.com/bannockburn

❤️ Fill A Heart 4 Kids: Current Projects:  Food Gift Cards 4 Homeless Children, Groceries 4 Homeless Children, Toiletries 4 Dignity Workshop Experience, Happy Cheesy Sock Day™ Workshop Experience, Spring Break in a Box, Project Hop, Year-Round: Survival BacPacsfillaheart4kids

🧖‍♂️ Flotstone: First Time Floater Package (three 60-minute floats) $150, 60 minute Intro Float $65, 90 Minute Float Session $110, Introductory 45-minute Sauna Single Session $39, Float Family Membership $69/mo, Sauna 4 Monthly Membership $119/mo Flotstone

👠 Forest Bootery: Featured: Nordic Beach Women’s Body Wrap, Holebrook of Sweden; Sale: Adidas DB1827 Girls or Boys VL Court 2.0 $40, Kid’s Adidas Grand Court K $50, Kid’s Jambu Talon-T $45 forestbootery

🏨 The Forester – a Hyatt Place Hotel: Member Rates, Double Your Points at Participating Hotels theforesterhotel

🍎 The Fresh Market: See Weekly Features Weekly Features at The Fresh Market

🍰 Gerhard’s Elegant European Desserts: French Macarons, Easter Champagne Cake, Raspberry Mousse Cake, Key Lime Tartlette, Strawberry Cheesecake, Lemon Meringue Tart, Individual Chocolate Mousse Egg, Fondant Iced Easter Cookies, Hot Cross Buns, Easter Champagne Cake, Easter Strawberry Cake, Easter Egg Cake gerhardsdesserts

☕️ Hansa Coffee Roasters: Buy a 5lb Bag of Coffee and Save 10%; Spring Brews: Espresso based – Ube Latte, Pistachio Latte, Cherry Blossom Latte, Vanilla Cardamom Latte, Honey Lavender Latte; Tea based – London Fog, Sandman, Dirty Chai, King Crimson hansacoffee

💇‍♀️ Judith’s Hair Studio: Wednesday Seniors $2 off, Thursdays College Students $2 off judithshairstudio

📚 Lake Forest Book Store: 10% discount available for military personnel and educators lakeforestbookstore

🎻 Lake Forest Civic Orchestra: Season Subscriptions $30-$60 (25% off single ticket price) lakeforestcivicorchestra

💐 Lake Forest Flowers: Spring Fresh Arrangements Occasion-Spring

🔧 Lake Forest Hardware Cards and Gifts: March Bargains of the Month local-ad

👗 Lake Forest Shop: Joseph Plata (March 8-18) thelakeforestshop-event-calendar

💼 LifeWorking: Spring Special – 50% off Day Pass – only $20 (through May 31) mylifeworking-reopening-office

👗 M on the Square: $5 off Bespoke Arrangements – use code: BESPOKESAVINGS, Seasonal florals, tabletop decor, & home accessories monthesquare

🦙 Mustard Seed: Fair Trade Gift Guide and much more mustardseedfairtrade

🍸 Oaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel: March Cocktail of the Month – “Absinthe Minded”, Raise a Glass to Women’s Month – March, Weekday Happy Hour 3-6: drink specials from $5 and starters specials from $7 each; 16.18% Conway Park neighborhood business discount weekdays 11-4; E-Club Special – Free Sapling; Citadel Theatre Goers discount 20% off plus Oaken 5 Happy Hour menu outside of the regular weekday 3-6pm hours when you show a same day ticket stub oakenbistro.com/specials-events

🛶 Offshore Marine/Paddling Warehouse: Aqua-Bound STING RAY PosiLock Paddles, Blem Boats from Wilderness Systems, Bending Branches SLICE HYBRID Adjustable, Wilderness Systems ASPIRE 100, Kokatat Men’s SCOUT – Factory 2nd, Aquaglide CHELEN 120 Inflatable, Current Designs KESTREL 120 - Demo  offshore-chicago

🐕 Pasquesi Home & Gardens: Dog Coats & Boots 30% off Select Items, $500 Garden Shopping Spree Raffle (drawing May 8) pasquesi.com/sales-events

🍱 Shakou: Rewards program – 5 credits per $1 spent (dine-in only), special food and drink items earn double and triple points daily, 2500 credits = $25 off, 500 credits for enrolling shakourestaurants.com/Loyalty

👔 Smith’s Men’s Store: Made-to-measure private appointments available smithsmensstore

🥩 Sunset Foods: See Weekly Specials weekly-ad

🍦 Suzy’s Swirl: Military Discount - 10% off your Cup, All School Happy Hour - Every Wednesday 50% off your Cup, Super-Size Saturday - $2.00 off Large Cup

🍫 Sweet’s:  Featured Items: Hostess Tray, English Toffee, Ladybugs, EasterEaster Basket Fillers, Chocolate Molded Easter Basket, Mixed Chocolates, Easter Hostess Tray, Chocolate Molded Bunny, Assorted Chocolate Molded Bunnies, Six Pack of Milk Chocolate Egg and Rabbit Suckers, Chocolate Covered Oreos, Fantasy Apples, Chocolate Covered Pretzels, Peanut Butter Cups, Chocolate Dipped Marshmallow Peeps  sweetschocolates

🍫 Toffee Traditions: Seasonal Flavors: white chocolate, lemon, poppy seed with macadamia nut; birthday toffee seasonal-toffee

💆‍♂️ Touched by Jules: 30-minute massage $65, 60-minute massage $120, 90-minute massage $175; Corporate/Onsite Chair Massage $150/hour (min 2 hours) + travel touchedbyjules

Check out our Community Calendar for more ways to Think Local First