Skip to content

EAT - SHOP - PLAY...AND MORE!

Eat Shop Play 2021

Here is the latest list of where to Eat, Shop & Play in our community this week,

May 13 - 19, 2024 ๐Ÿด๐Ÿ›๐Ÿคธโ€โ™€๏ธโ˜”๏ธ ๐ŸŒบ

Monday, May 13

๐Ÿงฎ 12:30 pm-1:30 pm โ€“ The Algebra of Wealth: Achieving Economic Security at Gorton Center the-algebra-of-wealth

๐Ÿค“ 7:00 pm-9:00 pm โ€“ Trivia Night @ Lake Bluff Brewing Company trivia-night-lake-bluff-brewing-company-spring

 

Tuesday, May 14

โ˜•๏ธ 9:00 am-10:30 am โ€“ Morning Brew: Sally Lou Loveman, Author & Founder LoveSpeaksยฎ at Suite Escape morning-brew

๐Ÿ’ป 12:00 pm-1:30 pm โ€“ How to Write a One-Page Business Plan: A Step-by-Step Guide (virtual) with SCORE business-plan

๐Ÿ“š 6:00 pm-7:00 pm โ€“ Author Mike Conklin: He Bet the Farm at Lake Forest Book Store author-mike-conklin

 

Wednesday, May 15

๐Ÿ’ช 8:00 am-9:00 am โ€“ Low-Impact Strength Class (virtual) with Elderwerks low-impact-strength-class

๐ŸŽญ 1:00 pm-3:00 pm โ€“ Baby: The Musical at Citadel Theatre baby-the-musical

๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿณ 6:00 pm-8:00 pm โ€“ Gorton Center Presents: Cooking at Froggy's! cooking-at-froggys

๐Ÿ‘ฆ 7:00 pm-8:00 pm โ€“ CROYA 8th Grade Welcome Party croya-calendar

 

Thursday, May 16

๐Ÿ‘” 10:00 am-5:00 pm โ€“ johnnie-o Trunk Show at Smithโ€™s Menโ€™s Shop events

๐Ÿง€ 11:00 am-12:30 pm โ€“ Charcuterie Class with Babs Boards at Elawa Farm charcuterieclass

๐Ÿ“š 12:00 pm-1:00 pm โ€“ Afternoons with Judy Levin Book Discussion at Lake Forest Library afternoons-with-judy-levin-book-discussion

๐Ÿ’ป 12:00 pm-1:30 pm โ€“ How to Create a LinkedIn B2B Marketing Strategy for Your Business linkedin-b2b-marketing

๐Ÿก 1:00 pm-4:00 pm โ€“ Modern in the Midcentury Exhibit Opening at History Center Lake Forest-Lake Bluff modern-midcentury-opening

๐Ÿธ 5:00 pm-7:00 pm โ€“ Happy Hour at Smithโ€™s Menโ€™s Shop events

๐Ÿก 6:30 pm-7:30 pm โ€“ Modern Beyond Style and the Pursuit of Beauty by Lake Forest Preservation Society at Gorton Center modern-beyond-style-and-the-pursuit-of-beauty

 

Friday, May 17

โ˜•๏ธ 7:30 am-9:00 am โ€“ COC B4Work Networking Breakfast coc-b4work-breakfast

๐Ÿ’ช 8:00 am-9:00 am โ€“ Low-Impact Cardio Class (virtual) with Elderwerks low-impact-cardio-class

10:00 am-6:00 pm โ€“ Grab & Go Crafts at Lake Bluff Public Library grab-go-crafts

๐ŸŒ๏ธโ€โ™€๏ธ 11:45 am-4:30 pm โ€“ LFBA Golf Outing lfba-golf-outing

๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ 6:00 pm-8:30 pm โ€“ Woodlands Academy hosts annual Fine Arts Evening fine-arts-evening

๐Ÿฝ๏ธ 6:00 pm-9:00 pm โ€“ Spring Farm Dinner at Elawa Farm springfarmdinner

๐ŸŽน 7:00 pm-10:00 pm โ€“ Live Music: Dina Bach at Oaken Bistro+Bar live-music-dina-bach

๐ŸŽญ 7:30 pm-9:30 pm โ€“ Baby: The Musical at Citadel Theatre baby-the-musical

 

Saturday, May 18

๐Ÿฅ— 10:00 am-11:00 am โ€“ Master the Art of Salad Gardening at Salad School! At Gorton Center salad-school

๐Ÿ 10:00 am-11:30 am โ€“ Bee Keeping 101 with Gretta's Goats at Elawa Farm beekeeping

๐Ÿ“ 1:00 pm-3:00 pm โ€“ Poetry at the Art Center - Poet Terry Loncaric poet-terry-loncaric

๐Ÿฝ๏ธ 6:00 pm-9:00 pm โ€“ Spring Farm Dinner at Elawa Farm springfarmdinner

๐Ÿ˜‚ 6:00 pm-9:30 pm โ€“ Comedy ABLAZE For a Cause: Lions Club Wine Tasting Fundraiser at ABLAZE Design Group comedy-ablaze-for-a-cause

๐Ÿฟ 7:00 pm-9:00 pm โ€“ Forrest Gump at Gorton Center forrest-gump

๐ŸŽญ 7:30 pm-9:30 pm โ€“ Baby: The Musical at Citadel Theatre baby-the-musical

 

Sunday, May 19

๐ŸŒญ 12:30 pm-3:30 pm โ€“ Beyond Basic Sausage Making with Chicago Meat Collective at Elawa Farm beyondbasicsausage

๐ŸŽญ 3:00 pm-5:30 pm โ€“ Baby: The Musical at Citadel Theatre baby-the-musical

 

Get outsideโ€ฆbe sure to check the status of our amazing community facilities!

Lake Bluff Park District: www.lakebluffparks.org

Lake Forest Parks & Recreation: www.lfparksandrec.com

Lake Forest Open Lands โ€“ www.lfola.org/recreational-activities

 

Ongoing:

๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธThe Art Center Highland Park โ€“ art. works. (May 3-June 15) art.works

๐Ÿ—“๏ธCROYA โ€“ After School Drop-In Hours croya-calendar

๐Ÿ‘ดDickinson Hall โ€“ Special Events, Life Enrichment, Ongoing Programs, Healthy Living Lectures and Fitness for Seniors dickinson_hall

โค๏ธFill A Heart 4 Kids โ€“ See Events & Volunteer Opportunities fillaheart4kids

๐Ÿ—“๏ธGorton Center โ€“ Calendar of Events: gortoncenter-events

โ™ฟ๏ธย Great Lake Adaptive Sports Association (GLASA) โ€“ Calendar of Events glasa.org-calendar

๐ŸกHistory Center of Lake Forest-Lake Bluff โ€“ Exhibit: Modern in the Midcentury

(May 165-November 1), Docent-Led Walking Tours; Self-Guided Tours โ€“ 11 Stately Observers: Witness Trees of Lake Forest, Houses of Lake Road; LF-LB History online; Main Exhibit & Digital Exhibits: Milestone Travels: Leaving Home to Find Yourself; Map Stories: The Hidden History in the Maps of Lake Forest and Lake Bluff; The Holiday Collection: from 1898 to Today; 300 Photos, 30 Days: A Candid Look at Covid-19; 20 in the Twenties: A Century of Change; Facing School 2020; History of Epidemics; History of Vaccines; A Spark of Genius: Local Events and Their Discoveries; Arcady Farm and its Neighbors lflbhistory

๐ŸŽปInternational Chamber Artists โ€“ Couch Concerts (Virtual), 2023-2024 Season Celebrating Women Composers icamusic

๐ŸกLake Bluff History Museum โ€“ The Lake: Lake Bluff and Michi Gami opens July 15 the-lake-lake-bluff-and-michi-gami; Lake Bluff Walking Tours App (nearly a dozen tours available): Uptown Commercial District; Lake Bluff Camp Meeting Grounds; Camp Meeting Cottages; Dogs on the Bluff public art display; Green Bay Road Estates; Moffett Road Estates; Sheridan Road Estates; Lake Bluff Commemorative Plaques Tour; Early Settlers of Lake Bluff, and Development in West Lake Bluff. lakebluffhistory

๐Ÿ“šLake Bluff Public Library โ€“No Mow May (May 1-30) no-mow-may; Calendar of Events: lakeblufflibrary-events; Voterโ€™s Registration other-services

๐ŸŽปLake Forest Civic Orchestra โ€“ past concerts and recordings archive past-concerts

๐ŸคธLake Forest Parks & Recreation โ€“ Summer/Camp Registration Opens for Residents summer-camp-reg-2024-opens-for-residents

๐ŸธOaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel โ€“ Dove & Branch โ€“ Cocktail of the Month (May 1-31), Roasted Halibut โ€“ Entrรฉe of the Month (May 1-31) specials-events

๐ŸฆPasquesi Home and Gardens: Spring Savings Sale (May 1-31 sales-events

๐ŸŽปRendezvous Arts โ€“ Summer Vignette Series and Patreon Channel (Virtual) rendezvousarts

 

Sales & Specials:

๐Ÿ›ŒBedside Manor: May Linen Sale: 25% on all bed & bath linens, throws, decorative pillows, down and more, Join our newsletter and take 10% off first purchase shopbedside-sale

๐ŸชดChalet: Outdoor Furniture 20-70% off, 20% off summer bulbs chaletnursery

๐Ÿ”Chief's Pub: ย Monday - $3.50 All Domestic bottles All Day, $3 Cheeseburger Sliders during MNF; Tuesday - $3.75 Corona and Corona Light bottles, $5 House Margarita and 1/2 price tacos; Wednesday - 1/2 price bottle of wine, $3.50 domestic jumbos; Thursday โ€“ Thirsty Thursdaysโ€ $20 Domestic beer towers, $10 domestic pitchers, 1/2 off domestic beer & house wine; Friday - $6 16oz Craft draft beer; Saturday - $15 domestic buckets, $20 Claw and Noon buckets, 1/2 price pizza all day; Sunday - $4 Screwdriver, $5 Bloodys and $6 Mimosas, Kids Eat Free; Happy Hour: Mโ€“F 3pm-6pm: $3.50 Miller Lite & Budlight Bottles, $4 16oz pints Miller Lite & Budlight, $4.75 23oz Miller Lite & Budlight, $5 Rail Drinks-House Vodka, Gin, Rum, Tequila & Whiskey + a mixer, $6 House Wine-Red: Cabernet, White: Chardonnay chiefspub

๐ŸŽญCitadel Theatre:
Season Subscriptions (2023-2024 Season Line-up:ย The Cottage, Dames at Sea, I and You, A Jukebox for the Algonquin) $40-$120 citadeltheatre

๐ŸทCourtyard Wines: Holiday & Special occasion gift baskets, 10% discount on case purchase winestorelakeforestil

๐Ÿซ–Deer Path Inn: Literary Getaway: A Good Book and a Spot of Tea, Babymoon Getaway - Baby On Board, Local's Only Package: Discover the North Shore, Zero-Proof Experience Mocktail Mixology, Gramping Getaway, Girlsโ€™ Getaway Tea Time For Two; north-chicago-hotel-deals; Afternoon Tea at The English Room - seatings at 2:00 pm, 2:30 pm and 3:00 pm Wednesday through Saturday; Afternoon Tea available for carry-outย Wednesday through Saturdayย from noon to 4:00 pm with preorder thedeerpathinn.com/dining

๐ŸณEgg Harbor Cafรฉ: Specials: Monte Cristo, Alpine Scrambler, Kickinโ€™ Bacon, Smoked Salmon Avocado Toast eggharborcafe

๐Ÿ’†โ€โ™€๏ธElements Massage: $30 off first one-hour massage session, New client discounts: One-hour massage session for only $89 (regular $119); 90 minute massage for $129 (regular $159) elementsmassage.com/bannockburn

๐Ÿง€Foodstuffs Gourmet Food & Catering: Customer Appreciation 10% off select Items (April), Charcuterie Board Kit + Wooden Board, Build Your Own Gift Basket, Sale: Foodstuffs Asiago Cheddar Cheese Crisps, Brooklyn Born Chocolate Keto Dark Chocolate 70% Dark Bar, Brooklyn Born Chocolate Keto Chocolate Peanut Butter & Jelly Bar, Sea Salted Matzo Chips foodstuffs

๐ŸจThe Forester โ€“ a Hyatt Place Hotel:
Oaken Dining Package, Member Rates theforesterhotel

๐Ÿง˜Forever Om Yoga:
$79 new client offer (local clients only); unlimited golden membership $195, $29 single class, packages available foreveromyoga

๐ŸฐGerhardโ€™s Elegant European Desserts โ€“ Motherโ€™s Day Specials: Espresso Cheesecake, Angel Food Cake, Chocolate Orange Charlotte, Berry Tiramisu Charlotte, Champagne Cake, Key Lime Tart, Petit Fors, Motherโ€™s Day Cookie, Petit French Macarons, Assorted Swiss Truffles in Gift Boxes, Fine Imported Swiss Truffles and Chocolates holiday-menu

โ˜•๏ธHansa Coffee Roasters: Free Shipping on orders over $75, Espresso Based: Ube Latte, Pistachio Latte, Rose Cardamon Pistachio Latte, Raspberry Dark Mocha, Honey Lavender Latte; Tea Based: London Fog, Spring Thaw, Dirty Chai hansacoffee

๐ŸฃKuro Bistro
: Lunch Specials - Maki, Sashimi, Sushi, Classic Roll Choices, Bento, DonBuri kurolakeforest

๐Ÿ“šLake Forest Book Store: 10% discount available for military personnel and educators lakeforestbookstore

๐ŸŽปLake Forest Civic Orchestra: Season Subscriptions $30-$60 (25% off single ticket price) lakeforestcivicorchestra

๐Ÿ’Lake Forest Flowers: Specials Specials

๐ŸŽLake Forest Hardware Cards and Gifts: Bargains of the Month local-ad

๐ŸŒญLukeโ€™s of Lake Bluff: 10% off first order; Daily Specials Include Small Fries and Medium Drink lukeslakebluff

๐Ÿฆ™Mustard Seed: Fair Trade Gift Guide and much more mustardseedfairtrade

๐ŸŽญOaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel: Weekday Happy Hour 3-6: drink specials from $5 and starters specials from $7 each; 16.18% Conway Park neighborhood business discount weekdays 11-4; E-Club Special โ€“ Free Sapling; Citadel Theatre Goers discount 20% when you show a same day ticket stub oakenbistro.com/specials-events

๐Ÿ›ถOffshore Marine/Paddling Warehouse: $500-$800 off select Wenonah Boats (May 1-31), 30-60% off Boardworks Paddleboards, Sale Items offshore-chicago

๐ŸŽจSherwin Williams:
30% off Emerald Product (May 10-13), 10% off $50+ special-offers

๐Ÿ‘”Smithโ€™s Menโ€™s Store: Made-to-measure private appointments available smithsmensstore

๐ŸŽSunset Foods: See Weekly Specials weekly-ad

๐ŸจSuzyโ€™s Swirl: Military Discount - 20% OFF your Cup Every Day - Thank you for your Service! Seniors Discount - 10% OFF you Cup Every Day - Treat Yourself! Birthday Cups - FREE Mini Cup on Birthday!

suzys-swirl

๐Ÿ’†Touched by Jules: 30-minute massage $65, 60-minute massage $120, 90-minute massage $175 touchedbyjules

 

Check out our Community Calendar for more ways to Think Local First