Skip to content

EAT - SHOP - PLAY...AND MORE!

Eat Shop Play 2021

Here is the latest list of where to Eat, Shop & Play in our community this week, August 8 - 14, 2022 🍴🛍 🤸‍♀️🌞

 

Monday, August 8

📚 All Day – Self-Guided Storywalk® on the Library Lawn at Lake Forest Library self-guided-storywalkr-library-lawn

🤓9:00 am-12:00 pm – Noggin Builders STEM Camp for ages entering fall 1st– 5th grades at Gorton Community Center (8/8-8/12) noggin-builders-stem-camp

🩸 10:00 am-11:00 am – Medical Assisting and Phlebotomy Information Session, Online Session through Zoom presented by College of Lake County Medical-Assisting-and-Phlebotomy-Information-Session

💆‍♀️ 12:00 pm-1:00 pm – Massage Therapy Information Session, Online Session through Zoom presented by College of Lake County Massage-Therapy-Information-Session

🥪 12:00 pm-1:00 pm or 1:30 pm – Lunch Bunch at Gorton Community Center lunch-bunch

🪴 1:00 pm-2:00 pm – Garden Task Force at Lake Bluff Public Library garden-task-force-monday-session

📚 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Nonfiction at Night: “Into Thin Air” (Hybrid) at Lake Forest Library nonfiction-night-thin-air-hybrid

 

Tuesday, August 9

📚 All Day – Self-Guided Storywalk® on the Library Lawn at Lake Forest Library self-guided-storywalkr-library-lawn

🧘‍♀️ 9:00 am-10:00 am – Tuesday Yoga All Levels: with Areta at Gorton Community Center tuesday-yoga-all-levels-with-areta

🤓9:00 am-12:00 pm – Noggin Builders STEM Camp for ages entering fall 1st– 5th grades at Gorton Community Center (8/8-8/12) noggin-builders-stem-camp

🥪 12:00 pm-1:00 pm or 1:30 pm – Lunch Bunch at Gorton Community Center lunch-bunch

👮‍♀️ 12:30 pm-4:00 pm – Safety Town Commanders Camp 2022 ages 8-10 at Gorton Community Center (8/9-8/11) safety-town-commanders2022

🍦 3:00 pm-4:00 pm – STEAM Explorers for Grades 1-4 – Making Ice Cream at Lake Forest Library steam-explorers-grades-1-4

🎭 4:00 pm-5:00 pm – Method Acting for Ages 5 to 8 (Tuesdays through August 9) at Gorton Community Center method-acting-for-ages-5-to-8

🎵 6:30 pm-8:30 pm –Concert in the Park “Final Say” at Townline Park concert-in-the-park

📚 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – The Life of Betty White at Lake Bluff Public Library the-life-of-betty-white

 

Wednesday, August 10

🤓9:00 am-12:00 pm – Noggin Builders STEM Camp for ages entering fall 1st– 5th grades at Gorton Community Center (8/8-8/12) noggin-builders-stem-camp

❤️ 10:00 am-11:00 am – Understanding the World Of Dementia presented by Elderwerks understanding-the-world-of-dementia

💼 10:00am-12:00pm – State of Illinois Community Table: Chat with the Staff of Your Elected Officials at Lake Forest Library state-illinois-community-table-chat-staff-your-elected-officials

🥪 12:00 pm-1:00 pm or 1:30 pm – Lunch Bunch at Gorton Community Center lunch-bunch

👮‍♂️ 12:30 pm-4:00 pm – Safety Town Commanders Camp 2022 ages 8-10 at Gorton Community Center (8/9-8/11) safety-town-commanders2022

🪄 3:00 pm-4:00 pm – Magic by Scott Green for All Ages at Lake Forest Library magic-scott-green-all-ages

🖼 4:00 pm-5:00 pm – Adult Crafternoon - Stamping Patterns at Lake Bluff Public Library adult-crafternoon

 

Thursday, August 11

🧘 9:00 am-10:00 am – Thursday Yoga: Gentle Yoga with Areta at Gorton Community Center thursday-yoga-gentle-yoga-with-areta

🤓9:00 am-12:00 pm – Noggin Builders STEM Camp for ages entering fall 1st– 5th grades at Gorton Community Center (8/8-8/12) noggin-builders-stem-camp

🚤 9:00 am-4:00 pm – Boat Building Workshop for High School Students at Lake Forest Open Lands boat-building-workshop

🥪 12:00 pm-1:00 pm or 1:30 pm – Lunch Bunch at Gorton Community Center lunch-bunch

👮‍♀️ 12:30 pm-4:00 pm – Safety Town Commanders Camp 2022 ages 8-10 at Gorton Community Center (8/9-8/11) safety-town-commanders2022

🪴 1:00 pm-2:00 pm – Garden Task Force at Lake Bluff Public Library garden-task-force-thursday-session

🫖 2:00 pm-3:00 pm – Fun & Fancy Doll Tea Party for Ages 5-10 at Lake Forest Library fun-fancy-doll-tea-party-ages-5-10

🍅 3:00 pm-5:30 pm – CLC’s Farm Market at College of Lake County Grayslake college-farm-market-returns-for-the-summer

❓ 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Mystery Book Group: “They Thursday Murder Club” (Hybrid) at Lake Forest Library mystery-book-group-thursday-murder-club-hybrid

📚 7:00 pm-8:00 pm – Teen Book Group: “Banned Book Club” (Hybrid) at Lake Forest Library teen-book-group-banned-book-club-hybrid

🧶 7:00 pm-9:00 pm – Knitwits at Lake Bluff Public Library knitwits

 

Friday, August 12

🍅 7:00 am-12:00 pm – Lake Bluff Farmers Market at Village Green lakebluff.org/residents/farmers-market

👩‍🎨 8:00 am-9:00 am – COC B4Work: What a Business Can Learn from Painting coc-b4work-what-a-business-can-learn-from-painting

🥕 8:00 am-1:00 pm – Garden Market at Elawa Farm elawafarm.org

🚲 8:45 am-9:30 am – Book Bike & Storytime at the Farmer's Market in Downtown Lake Bluff at the Village Green book-bike-storytime-at-the-farmer-s-market

🤓9:00 am-12:00 pm – Noggin Builders STEM Camp for ages entering fall 1st– 5th grades at Gorton Community Center (8/8-8/12) noggin-builders-stem-camp

🚤 9:00 am-4:00 pm – Boat Building Workshop for High School Students at Lake Forest Open Lands boat-building-workshop

🥪 12:00 pm-1:00 pm or 1:30 pm – Lunch Bunch at Gorton Community Center lunch-bunch

🎥 3:00 pm-5:00 pm – Feature Film Friday: “The 355” at Lake Forest Library feature-film-friday-355

🌳 6:00 pm-7:00 pm – Conservation Cocktails: Boat Building at Lake Forest Open Lands conservation-cocktails-boat-building

🍷 7:00 pm-9:00 pm – Suzy Schwartz – Pop, Rock & Country at Pazzo di Vino events-pazzo-di-vino

 

Saturday, August 13

🍅 8:00 am-1:00 pm – Garden Market at Elawa Farm elawafarm.org

🧘‍♀️ 10:00 am-11:00 am – Yoga on the Farm with Dani Rivera at Elawa Farm elawafarm.org

🎨 10:00 am-11:00 am – Kids’ Art: Summer Favorites ages 7-12 at Gorton Community Center kids-art-summer-favorites

🚶‍♀️ 10:00 am-12:00 pm – Lake Forest College Campus Walking Tour presented by History Center of Lake Forest-Lake Bluff lake-forest-college-campus-walking-tour

🌱 10:00 am-12:00 pm – Seed to Plate at Elawa Farm elawafarm-classes-programs

🚤 10:00 am-3:00 pm – Boat Building Workshop – Family Workshop (teams of 2, ages 10+) at Lake Forest Open Lands boat-building-workshop

☯️ 10:45 am-11:45 am – Tai Chi with Ken Ning at Gorton Community Center tai-chi-with-ken-ning

🍴 11:00 am-1:00 pm – Bono Furtuna Tasting at Pasquesi Home & Gardens bono-furtuna-tasting

♟ 1:00 pm-2:00 pm – Chess Club at Lake Bluff Public Library chess-club

🍻 5:00 pm-9:00 pm – Block Party Library Fundraiser with the Lake Bluff Brewing Co. ”Crooked Moon” at Village Green block-party-fundraiser-with-lake-bluff-brewing-company

🍷 7:00 pm-9:00 pm – John McDonough – folk, rock at Pazzo di Vino events-pazzo-di-vino

😂 7:30 pm-9:30 pm – Chicago Comic Book by Chicago Comedy All-Stars at Gorton Community Center gorton-center-live-comedy-all-stars

 

Sunday, August 14

🚤 10:00 am-3:00 pm – Boat Building Workshop – Family Workshop (teams of 2, ages 10+) at Lake Forest Open Lands boat-building-workshop

🌸 11:00 am-12:00 pm – 'All About Hydrangeas' Seminar with Lisa Hilgenberg at Pasquesi Home & Gardens all-about-hydrangeas-seminar

🎸 6:00 pm-7:30 pm – Bluffinia ‘Mr Meyers’ at Village Green Lake Bluff bluffinia-mr-meyers

 

Get outside…be sure to check the status of our amazing community outdoor facilities!

🏃‍♀️ Lake Bluff Park District: www.lakebluffparks.org

🏃‍♂️ Lake Forest Parks & Recreation: www.lfparksandrec.com

🐕 Lake Forest Open Lands – www.lfola.org/recreational-activities

 

Ongoing:

🖼 The Gallery – Unrevealed by Ari Smejkal TheGalleryLF.com

🚶‍♂️ History Center of Lake Forest-Lake Bluff: Docent-Led Walking Tours and Self-Guided Tours – Witness Trees of Lake Forest, Houses of Lake Road

🎻 International Chamber Artists – Couch Concerts (Virtual); LF-LB History online, Main Exhibit & Digital Exhibits: Milestone Travels: Leaving Home to Find Yourself, Map Stories: The Hidden History in the Maps of Lake Forest and Lake Bluff, The Holiday Collection: from 1898 to Today, 300 Photos, 30 Days: A Candid Look at Covid-19, 20 in the Twenties: A Century of Change, Facing School 2020  lflbhistory.org

 🍺 Lake Bluff Brewing Company: Lake Bluff 125th Anniversary History Art Exhibit

🚶‍♀️ Lake Bluff History Museum – Lake Bluff Walking Tours App (nearly a dozen tours available): Uptown Commercial District; Lake Bluff Camp Meeting Grounds; Camp Meeting Cottages; Dogs on the Bluff public art display; Green Bay Road Estates; Moffett Road Estates; Sheridan Road Estates; Lake Bluff Commemorative Plaques Tour; Early Settlers of Lake Bluff, and Development in West Lake Bluff. lakebluffhistory.org

🎾 Lake Bluff Park District – Lake Bluff Pool Memberships on Sale, 2022-2023 Ladies’ & Mens’ Paddle Memberships are available (10% off for new members, or 10% off for referring a new member); Fall registration begins – Residents August 13, Non-Residents August 20 lakebluffparks.org

📚 Lake Forest Book Store – The Lake Forest Book Store Book Club meets monthly at the store on the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 7:00 PM lakeforestbookstore.com/store-book-clubs

🏈 Lake Forest Parks & Recreation: Fall Resident Registration Opens July 19 lfparksandrec.com/

🚶‍♂️ Lake Forest Preservation Society – 6 app-based tours: East Lake Forest Walking Tour, Stanley Anderson’s Lake Forest, David Adler Architecture Walking Tour, Howard Van Doren Shaw in Lake Forest, West Park Walking Tour, 2020 Lake Forest Historic Preservation Awards lfpf.org

👩‍⚕️ McLaughlin Care – Wellness Wednesdays Vlogs Wellness-Wednesdays

🍸 Oaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel: Live Music Fridays with Peter the Pianist oakenbistro.com/specials-events

🎻 Rendezvous Arts – Summer Vignette Series and Patreon Channel (Virtual) rendezvousarts.org

Sales & Specials:

🌮 Authentico: Happy Hour all night Sunday-Wednesday: Sangria Sundays $5; Margarita Mondays $5; Tuesdays with a Twist – House Margarita & Sangria $5; Wine Wednesday $5; Friday Night Fish Fry authenticorestaurant.com

🛌 Bedside Manor: Manor Down Clearance Salespecific down is 30% off, select furniture on sale shopbedside.com

🌺 Chalet: Summer clearance Sale up to 70% off, Select Hydrangeas 20% off, Free Local Delivery in August for orders $250+, Spring-blooming Trees + Shrubs 30% off, Raised Planters, Beds, Gardening Benches 30% off, Citronella Sale, Outdoor furniture sale 20- 50% offSignature Planter Subscription chaletnursery.com

🏌️‍♀️ Champion Ways Golf: Summer Special - $500 for 5 months (April – August) ChampionWays.com

🍻 Chief's Pub: Monday: $3.50 Miller Lite & Budlight bottles; Tuesday: $4.74 Corona & Corona Light Bottles / $5 House Margaritas; Wednesday: $ 4.75 23oz Budlight and Miller Lite Draft / 1⁄2 Bottles of wine; Thursday: 1⁄2 off Domestic Pitchers; Friday: $5 16oz Craft Draft; Saturday: $17 Domestic Buckets, $25 Whiteclaw and Highnoon Buckets; Sunday: $5 House Bloody Mary’s, Mimosas and Screwdrivers chiefspub.com/

💻 College of Lake County: Excel workshop package (5 workshops totaling 20 hours) for $4,950 (Valued at $6,000) through August 31, 2022 clcillinois.edu/southlake

🍷 Courtyard Wines: Special occasion gift baskets, 10% discount on case purchase

🍸 Deer Path Inn: James Bond Experience – Double Oh Martini; 2022 Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards Thank you 15% off stay plus welcome amenity; Gramping Getaway; Picnic in the Park thedeerpathinn.com/packages

🍳 Egg Harbor Café: Seasonal Menu: Caprese Avocado Toast, Cheesecake French Toast, Chickpea Salad Summerfest eggharborcafe.com/menu

💆‍♂️ Elements Massage: $30 off your first one-hour massage session elementsmassage.com/bannockburn

🧖‍♂️ Flotstone: First Time Floater Package (3 – 60-minute floats) $150 Flotstone.com

🍪 Foodstuffs Gourmet Food & Catering: 10% off: Slide Potato Chips (All Flavors), Corey’s Bagel Chips (All Flavors), Foodstuffs Breadsticks (All Flavors), Foodstuffs Hippie Trippie Mix, Foodstuffs Hippie Crack Mix, Cult Crackers foodstuffs.com

👟 Forest Bootery: Featured: Bear Paw Retro Loki, Nordic Beach Women’s Body Wrap; Sale: Adidas DB1827 Girls or Boys VL Court 2.0 $40, Kid’s Adidas Grand Court K $50, Kid’s Jambu Talon-T $45 forestbootery.com

🧺 The Forester – a Hyatt Place Hotel: Oaken Dining Package – $25 Food and Beverage Credit, when you book our Dining Package; Picnic Package – picnic basket, a foldable fleece travel blanket, a bottle of wine (your choice of red, white, or sparkling), 2 glasses, and a corkscrew theforesterhotel.com/

🧘 Forever Om Yoga: $79 new client offer; $299 summer student special foreveromyoga.com

🥩 The Fresh Market: Premium Choice Whole Beef Tenderloin 11.99/lb (Members Only); Nashville Hot Chicken or Pork $4.99-$7.99/lb, Wild Sockeye Salmon $14.99/lb, Hawaiian Pork Market Meal Kit or Thai Coconut Shrimp Market Meal Kit $16.99 each, Reed Avocados 2/$5, Sweet Corn 3/$2, Red or Green Seedless Grapes $2.49/lb, Sugar Kiss Melon or Summer Kiss Melon 2/$7

🍰 Gerhard’s Elegant European Desserts: Spring/Summer Holiday Specials: French Macarons, Raspberry Mousse Cake, Key Lime Tartlette, Strawberry Cheesecake gerhardsdesserts.com

☕️ Hansa Coffee Roasters: Firebear Hot Sauce, Silipint Silicone Tumblers, Summer Brews hansacoffee.com/

🎁 Kenzy Gifts & Décor: $50 gift card when opening a Wedding Registry kenzygifts.com

⛳️ Lake Bluff Park District: August Golf Club: Weekday Specials: 6am - 11am $52.00, 11am - 2pm $48.00, 2pm - 4pm $42.00, After 4pm $36.00; Twilight Specials: Weekdays After 5pm -- $30.00, Weekends After 5pm -- $30.00

📚 Lake Forest Book Store: 10% discount available for military personnel and educators lakeforestbookstore.com

👗 The Lake Forest Shop: 75% off Selected Styles; Featuring: The Stirling Handbag, The Centennial Little Black Bag thelakeforestshop.com

💼 LifeWorking: Unlimited Coworking Days for $199/month for new coworkers in August; Free Trial Day Pass mylifeworking.com/

🥃 Lucky Duck: Featuring Bourbon Slushee

🍔 Luke’s of Lake Bluff: 10% off first order lukeslakebluff.com/

💐 M on the Square: $5 off Bespoke Arrangements – use code: BESPOKESAVINGS, Seasonal florals, tabletop decor, & home accessories monthesquare.com/

🐓 Maevery Public House: Sunday Night: Fried Chicken & Waffles: Half Amish Chicken, Cornmeal Breading, Sriracha-Honey Glaze, Sweet Potato Waffles $22 maevery.com

👩‍⚕️ McLaughlin Care: $47 New Patient Exam; 10% off “Brain Boost Pack” vitamins mclaughlincare.com/this-months-special-2

🧀 My CharCUTErie: Summer CharCUTErie fun: S’mores CharCUTErie board, Luau Theme CharCUTErie board, Vodka Lemonade Drink Kit, CharCUTErie snackle box, Watermelon board tiered cakes, Ravinia CharCUTErie box, S’mores CharCUTErie box, Under the Sea CharCUTErie tray, Summer gourmet sugar cookies mycharcuterie.com

🍰 Nothing Bundt Cakes: Limited time Lemon Raspberry, New: Strawberries & Cream, Snickerdoodle

🍷 Oaken Bistro + Bar at the Forester Hotel: Friday Night Filet & Wine Pairing Special, Teacher Appreciation Month 20% off in August with school ID, Chicago Beers Football Specials, Weekday 5 drink and starters specials for $5 each; Wine Down Wednesdays – half price wine by the bottle; live music Fridays; Afternoon Tea Weekdays 12-3, 16.18% Conway Park neighborhood business discount weekdays 11-4 oakenbistro.com/
🛶 Offshore Marine/Paddling Warehouse: Blem Boats from Wilderness Systems; Werner SHUNA Paddles 2 pc closeout; Kokatat Mens SCOUT Factory 2nd; Aquaglide CHELEN 120 Inflatable offshore-chicago.com/

🌸 Pasquesi Home & Gardens: 20% off Outdoor Hydrangeas, 25% off All Concrete Fountains, 25% off select glazed and fiberglass containers, 40% off Oliphant summer dresses, Pinched waist hummingbird feeder $13.99, 30% off on Brome Squirrel Buster Finch Feeders, Boxwood 'Green Velvet'  $42.99pasquesi.com/sales-events/

🍕 Rosati’s Pizza: Monday - 16" Thin Crust 1-Topping for Only $16.00 (toppings extra); Tuesday - 14" Thin Crust 1-Topping Pizza for $11.99+tax, Family Meal Deal $36.99, 5% off online orders myrosatis.com/lakeforest/

🤖 Sage Explorers: Featured Products: Natural Disasters in a Box, Robotic Arm Kit, Puzzles by Number Rainbow sageexplorers.com/

👔 Smith’s Men’s Store: Made-to-measure private appointments available smithsmensstore.com/

 

 

Check out our Community Calendar for more ways to Think Local First